FBTEE in Russian

A couple of years ago, I was invited to submit a piece to the Annuaire d’études françaises, for a special edition to mark the 225th anniversary of the French Revolution, to be edited by Alexandre Tchoudinov et Dmitri Bovykine. And as a free bonus they have even translated it into Russian. For those of you who missed it, the title is ‘БИБЛИОМЕТРИЯ, ПОПУЛЯРНОЕ ЧТЕНИЕ И ЛИТЕРАТУРНОЕ ПОЛЕ ИЗДАТЕЛЯ ЭПОХИ ПРОСВЕЩЕНИЯ’ and my name has been rendered in Russian as Саймон Барроуз. I think that must be right, but as my name has been mistranscribed in English in the table of contents as Sidney Burrows, I’m not quite sure. Ironically, I was indeed nearly named Sidney, as my mother is a primary teacher and felt that it would help me to write my name by the time I went to school if it was composed of the three very different letter shapes S-I-D. And for those more interested in the article, its original English title was ‘Bibliometrics, Popular Reading, and the Literary Field of an Enlightenment Publisher’. I suspect that sounds better in Russian!

2 thoughts on “FBTEE in Russian”

  1. “Саймон Барроуз” (Saimon Barrouz) is a phonetic transliteration (which is pretty standard in contemporary publishing). They could have called you “Семён” (Semyon) if they wanted to translate. It’s a shame they didn’t ask for your father’s name and give you a patronymic.

Leave a Reply

